Spin! Spin! Spin!

Me and my little wheel (Which needs a name, any ideas?) have been spinning and spinning and spinning. So far, I’ve spun up 4 different yarns. I have 2 to show you today, and tomorrow I can show you the other 2, once they finish drying. Here we have the first yarn I’ve ever spun on my new wheel:
 

Roving: Lisa Souza Superfine Superwash Merino Top Rovingin “Mardi Gras”
Ounces: 4
Yardage: Approx. 165 yards
2 ply, Light Worsted Weight

Love it Love it Love it. The colors are so pretty. I think this will become a hat for me.

Next up, I had myself a little lesson in Plying:

I was always a little upset about how my plying looked, it looked loose and just… not like everyone else’s I’ve seen. So, I tried spinning my singles much tighter than I have been, and guess what, It worked (as you can see in the picture above). This makes me very happy, that it was such a simple fix, and that there is something wrong with me or something. Oh, have I shown you this yet?

That, my friends, is what I have been told is the “Cadillac” of the Niddy Noddy‘s. It was so funny. My mom gave my grandma ideas for what to give me for Christmas, so she ordered me this. When I opened my gift, it was 2 pieces of wood and a couple screws, and I had no idea what the heck it was. So, I asked my grandma, and she just kinda looked and me. Then I asked my mom, and no one could tell me what It was, until my grandma said “I think it’s called a Niddy-Noddy?”. OOOOooooooooooohhhh, then I knew what it was, but I had only seen those PVC pipe ones. My grandma said she was going to order one of the cheapy PVC pipe ones, but they where out of stock, and the guy said that this one was the top of the line. It’s called a Dolphin Niddy Noddy. I love it, it’s very cool.

So, come back tomorrow and I’ll have more handspun to show ya.

~ by Kaity on December 29, 2006.

3 Responses to “Spin! Spin! Spin!”

  1. WHAT a cool Niddy Noddy! It’s beauuuutiful =) Your spinning is getting all professional now.

  2. Charlotte? Too obvious?
    Spinderella? (or just Drella?)
    Sheila? (Down under for ‘girl’ – since she’s a Kiwi and all?)

  3. And I thought my dad was all sorts of nutty when he made my Niddy Noddy out of PVC pipe. lol

Leave a Reply

 
