The Easiest Way to do a Short Row Heel

I saw this method on some pattern somewhere, but I have since forgotten where. I don’t take credit for this Method of Short Rows,

So I was teaching my mom the way I do short row heels, and we both agreed that we have no idea why everyone doesn’t do them this way. In my opinion, it’s the fastest, easiest, and best looking way to do a short row heel. There is no wrapping or anything like that. So here’s a tutorial for ya’ll:

Start off with your heel stitches on one needle (I just cast on for the purpose of the tutorial, but these would be the heel stitches of your sock):

Slip the first stitch, knit to one before the end:

Turn, slip the first stitch, purl to one before the end:

Turn, slip the first stitch, knit to 2 before the end:

Turn, slip the first stictch, purl to two before the end:

Keep Going like this, turning, slipping the first stitch, and knitting to 3 before the end, than 4, than 5, and so on and so forth, each time you’ll be leaving a stitch behind and havin less and less stitches to knit. Keep going until you’ve got however many stitches you want to stop at (I did 6 or so, but a standard sock might be 10 or 12, whatever you want, really.)

Your work should look something like this:

(Click on the picture to see it better, to see the writing)

Ok, so.. You should be ready to do a knit row. Slip the first stitch, knit to one stitch before the gap:

Slip the stitch before the gap onto the right hand needle, pick up the bar running between the gap and put it on the right hand needle:

Knit the slipped stitch and the picked up bar together:

And thats how you close a gap on the right side. Now turn, slip the first stitch, and purl to one stitch before the gap:

Slip the stitch before the gap, pick up the bar running between the gap, and put it on the right hand needle:

Purl the slipped stitch and the picked-up bar together:

And that’s how you close the gap on the purl side. Here are videos to help you out.

On the Knit Side

On the Purl Side

Keep going like that, Turning, slipping the first stich, knitting to the stitch before the gap, slipping it, picking up the bar, and knitting them together, until you’ve closed all the gaps.

And you’ve finished your heel! Mine ended up a little pointy, but you get the idea. Here’s how it looks on the side:

And here’s how it looks knit on a real sock:

Viola! The easiest way to knit a short row heel. Any questions?

~ by Kaity on May 28, 2007.

16 Responses to “The Easiest Way to do a Short Row Heel”

  1. Great tutorial. I’ve been trying different short row heels to see how to avoid the holes at the joins. I gotta try this one next. Thanks!

  2. I just cast on my first sock EVER. I’m going to be saving the link to this page!

    Thank you Kaity.

  3. I think there was a tutorial fpre this method (which is the japanese method or something like that) in Nona Knits. The only difference is that she uses pins to keep track of what piece of yarn you should pick up, the bar, as you say. But it is pretty much the same.

  4. Easy! I think the wrap method was you-know-who’s attempt to make a difficult classs out of a simple project!.

  5. Great tutorial. I’m never see this method before, but I’m going to try it for my next pair!

  6. […] I had hoped to finish  my sock today, but stuff got in the way.  I’m going to knit on it tonight and try to get it finished.  I found a killer short row tutorial (thanks Lana) over at Kaity’s. […]

  7. Wow, even I get this. I swear I have tried almost every tutorial out there on short row heels. I had just about given up on figuring it out when you were recommended to me by Ms. Lana! What a blessing this is…I’m so using this method on my next sock (while will probably be Thursday!). Thanks so much!

  8. Thank you SOOO MUCH for this tutorial!! I wanted to learn how to do short-row heels but all the tutorials I had found so far were difficult and confuing. This one is REALLY GREAT! Thanks a lot 🙂

  9. dear katie. i must have searched over a hundred short row sock heel tutorials.i had tried many of them and then given up.but your explanation is simple, easy and very practical. ( no pins, no turns,no twists) in just two pictures of how to close the holes on the knit side and purl side you have finished the story of sock heels.thanks a milion.now i can sleep in peace.these short row sock heels were making me mad.thanks once again.bye taj

  10. Thanks kaity! This tutorial really helped me figure out the heel on socks. I was trying to help my roomie over the weekend on the heel part and neither one of us have done socks before. Glad you posted this.

  11. […] none, basic 56 stitch, toe up, short row heel (using Kaity’s method), done magic […]

  12. I’ll have to bookmark this page. I’ve been putting off learning a new method of knitting socks. Between your short rows and Roni’s socks on circulars, I’ll learn two new techniques!

  13. Finally I have found someone else that does short row toes and heels the same as I do. I have been doing them that way for the past 53 years (I can’t believe it has been that long !! !!). I started knitting socks when I was six while walking to and from school and my mom taught me to make the toes and heels the way you show. I have NEVER understood why ANYONE would ever wrap since it is so fiddly to mess with and time consuming. I short row until I have one third of the stitches in the center then start “closing the gaps” as you put it and it makes it less pointy.

    Sock on.

  14. […] Cosmicpluto knits! shortrow heel with wraps The Blue Blog short row heel (this is most similar to the method I use) Kaity Knits…a lot: A really simple short-row heel […]

  15. Katie, I have been looking for a way to finish my socks and have not had any luck. Could you post the pictures. I would love to try your technique.

  16. Hello All.
    I the new user.
    Look,news Video

    http://summer-glau-nude.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

 
