I believe in a thing called alterations.

Listening To: I Believe in a Thing Called Love by The Darkness

I can’t focus on what I was gonna write about. I’m singing along. I seriously haven’t heard this song in… forever. I love it, it’s so good. Click the link to watch the freaky music video.

Ok, back to work. Soo… Sesame. I wanna make it, right? And I bought all that Vanna’s Choice yarn. Well, the Vanna yarn is a slightly heavy worsted weight, and the pattern calls for Rowan Wool Cotton, which is like a DK/worsted weight. My Gauge is way off.

So… I’m thinking, If I use the yarn and needles I want, and the gauge I want, could I figure out what size of the pattern I should make for for it to fit?

Let’s see. My size for sweaters is about a 42-44″ Bust. My gauge with the Vanna yarn is 4 sts per inch.

I’ll start with the smallest size. For the back, you cast on 90 sts. Plus 40 for one front, and 40 for the other. All together, that’s 170 sts around the whole sweater. So, If I knit the smallest size with my gauge of 4 sts per inch, that means it would be… 42.5 inches around? Is that right?

That’s a bit small. Next size has 178 sts around. 178sts / 4 sts per inch= 44.5 inches? That seems about right.

So, am I figuring this right? I need to knit the second-to-smallest size? Anyone out the math-ly inclinded? I think that’s right. I think that’s what I’ll do.

Ok.

PS: I don’t know about you, but on my computer (and my mom’s), when we go to Bloglines, my blog pops up about every time, and when you click on it, it shows nothing? So, if this is happening to you, I am sorry. I don’t know how to fix it!

~ by Kaity on September 8, 2007.

2 Responses to “I believe in a thing called alterations.”

  1. Ok, i so do remember this song. But now watching the video and hearing his voice while watching…reminds me of Hugh Grant in “music & Lyrics” lol! Ok, i’d look closer at your guage and measurements…if it were not for my scrambled brain on a friday night! Stuffing gear in my pack to go backpacking tomorrow, hubby keeps trying to take gear from his pack and hide it in mine….like i won’t notice the xtra weight. Got my knitting packed! *grin*

  2. I am math impared but I will send you good vibes that your numbers are right on. I use Google Reader instead of bloglines and I love love love it. You pop up fine for me;)

Leave a Reply

 
