She’s Here!! She’s Here!!

Listening to: Spanish Bombs by The Clash

Remember the surprise I was telling you about? She’s Here!! Yay!

Meet Layla!!! Isn’t she the cutest puppy you’ve ever seen? I love her. My parents finally decided that we should get a puppy, so My mom went to go pick her up and she came home yesterday. She is 8 weeks old and half Yorkie, half Shitz-poo.

This is what I I’ve been knitting lately. Doggie Sweaters. That one up there is the cutest, but Layla isn’t so big on wearing it. She likes to chew on it. Anyway, here’s the info:

Pattern: Doggie Jacket
Yarn: Some kind of stripey sock yarn, and fingering weight white wool for the ribbing.
Needles: US Size 4
Modifications: I didn’t do the flap thing at the back of the sweater, I just kept knitting straight and seamed it to look more sweater-y.

Layla seems to like this one better. She doesn’t chew on it.

Pattern: Pennyfrom Knitty
Yarn: Caron Simply Soft
Needles: US Size 5
Modifications: This pattern has a lot of mistakes in it, so I just kind of used it as a reference and did my own thing, the way I thought it should be done. I think I’m going to make another one, this time in the Round so I don’t have to seam.

All in all, I think we got a pretty good puppy. She’s a total spaz, and a little clumsy, but very cute and sweet and cuddly. Here’s one more picture, this one has my sister’s hand in it so you can see how tiny she is:

~ by Kaity on October 11, 2007.

13 Responses to “She’s Here!! She’s Here!!”

  1. What a sweetie!!!!! She is absolutely adorable and one lucky lil pooch to have found such a nice home. Good deal for everyone.

    I love the sweaters even if she doesn’t!

  2. She’s so cute! And those sweaters — adorable! I like the pink one best too.

  3. To adorable!! Puppy and sweaters. Congrats on the new addition to the family.

  4. Ohhhhhh puppy. I’ve wanted a dog for a while now. I shall have to live vicariously through photos.

  5. Puppy & Sweaters are both adorable! Enjoy!

  6. OMG!!!!!! What a cutie!!!! And the sweaters are so cute on her!!

  7. Layla is adorable! Did you get her from a breeder? We’re starting to look for a dog too, but probably a rescue adult dog. What a great addition to the family. And she is one lucky pup to have instant wardrobe.

  8. So cute! The sweaters are great. If you decide to knit one in the round, I’d love it if you’d sketch out a pattern. I want to knit a circular one, but haven’t worked out exactly how it should work.

  9. What a cute puppy! Layla is such a cute name. You’re in for a wonderful commitment with this precious companion.

  10. That’s the cutest dog I’ve ever seen!

  11. Your puppy is adorable. I just got my kids a new dog a couple of weeks ago [chihuahua/min pin] from the Pasadena Humane Society, and I’ve been knitting the Penny sweater since it turned cold. I’m glad I’m not the only one who thought the pattern had mistakes. Yours turned out really well!

  12. Layla is just adorable! She looks so cute in the sweaters you’re making for her 🙂

  13. Love your puppy! I would like to see your revised version of the Penny sweater. I would love to do this in the round and without all the mistakes!

    Thanks!

    Shea

Leave a Reply

 
