Don’t Go Outside

Listening To: “Dead Man’s Party” by “A Thorn For Every Heart”

Here in Southern California, we are prone to wildfires. There is a fire now, burning near our town, and I think there are… precautionary evacuations? Something like that. We’ll be fine, we aren’t all that threatened. The fire is miles away, but the smoke and ash are ever present. It Sucks, too. yesterday was really bad. The sky got dark and gloomy in the afternoon, and was glowing this scary reddish-orange color. Tammy has some cool pictures up on her blog.

dont go outside


(See that looming darkness? Smoke.)

The ash and the smoke and the million-mile-per-hour winds make it totally crappy outside. I woke up this morning and my throat hurt, my nose was dry, and I’ve pretty much been thirsty all day. My poor puppy couldn’t go outside this morning, we were afraid she would be blown away (It’s a reasonable fear, she weight 2.7 pounds!). As long as we don’t spend time outside, we’ll all be okay, but keep in mind and pray for those people whose houses are threatened.

Ok, I’ll move on now. Knitting maybe? Alright.

I’ve been working on and off on another sweater for Layla, but Just yesterday I started these:

brownknuck


(Sorry for the crappy picture, it was dark)

Knucks! I knit a pair of these way back when, but I seem to have lost them. So I’m making more. This pattern is awesome. It’s so well written. Usually I feel the need to make modifications to patterns, but not one mod here (Except that I am knitting the body of the glove on size 4 needles and the ribbing on size 2’s.)

The yarn? Cascade 220, of course.

And to end off this post, how about a picture of my puppy?

Cutest Puppy Ever

Aint she the cutest darn thing you’ve ever seen?!

~ by Kaity on October 23, 2007.

7 Responses to “Don’t Go Outside”

  1. Yes… Layla is the cutest darn thing I’ve ever seen!

    As for the smoke, I feel like my eyes have dried up in their sockets! Then there’s the 5 boys who are stuck inside with me. yikes.

  2. So glad to here that you and your family are OK. Many prayers sent your way and to your neighbors.

  3. I heard Fillmore and Piru are right in the middle and hope you and your family are okay. I’ll be thinking of you and your family and your super cute pup.

  4. I’m glad that you are okay and that you haven’t even had to evacuate. But the smoke sounds miserable!

  5. That baby is adorable!!!

  6. stay safe

  7. Adorable!

Leave a Reply

 
