The Pair-A-Month Challenge

Listening To: Stash and Burn Episode #12

I had this idea today, because I was cruising around blogland and was reading about the 52 Pair Plunge, where you knit a pair of sock a week basically for a year, which I thought sounded like fun, but come on, 52 pairs? Holy Moley. There is no way I could finish that many pairs. Soooo, I came up with the Pair-A-Month Challenge.

I Challenged my Mom and she’s on the wagon with me. Here are the rules we came up with:

-You must finish a pair of socks by the end of the month.
-A pair counts as 2 socks, whether you start and finish a whole pair that month, or you finish a pair that have been languishing on your needles as a WIP.
-If you don’t finish a pair of socks that month, you have to give the other person enough sock yarn for a pair from your stash OR buy the other person enough sock yarn for a pair.

So there you go. We’re doing it. If you want to take the challenge, go for it. Find a partner to keep you accountable or do it by yourself, and impose a punishment for not finishing a pair that month. Or don’t. Do what you want!
Here’s the start of my pair for April:

That’s the sock yarn from my last post, and it is variegating beautifully. I’m doing 1×1 ribbing for the top and then 3×1 for the leg and instep.

~ by Kaity on April 6, 2008.

4 Responses to “The Pair-A-Month Challenge”

  1. That’s a really good idea. I tried it last year, but I only made it halfway through the year. 🙂

  2. What a great idea. Are you going to make a button? I love buttons:D

    Oh, I’m off to look for a pal…..squee.

  3. Great idea! I’m in, and I just found an accountability partner on Ravelry. I’m doing a pair of Monkeys for April. Yea!

  4. I’m in. I got tagged by Abigail. Gotta go and start knitting.

Leave a Reply

 
